Kohli , Iyer century and Shami’s 7/57 helps India beat New Zealand by 70 runs and enter into the final

India beat New Zealand by 70 runs and enter into the semis (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Virat Kohli (117 runs from 113 balls) , Shreyas Iyer (105 runs from 70 balls) and Mohammad Shami’s (7/57 in 9.5 overs) helps India beat New Zealand by 70 runs and enter into the World Cup final for the fourth time. Batted first India set New Zealand 398 run target and bowled them out for 327 in 48.5 overs.

Also Read:- Babar Azam steps down as Pakistan captain in all formats

Rohit Sharma (47 runs from 29 balls) and Shubman Gill (80* runs from 66 balls) given India a quick start by scoring 71 runs in 8.2 overs. Kane Willamson took a brillant catch off Southee to dismiss Rohit Sharma to broke the opening stand. Gill retired hurt on 79 after suffering cramps on left leg when India reached 165/1 in 23 overs.

Iyer scored 105 runs from 70 balls (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer partnership of 163 runs from 128 balls put India in a commanding position. K.L.Rahul (39* runs from 20 balls) innings helps India finish strongly and reached 397/4 in 50 overs.

Kohli scored his 50th ODI ton and broke Sachin Tendulkar record of 49 ODI centuries. He also surpassed Sachin’s record of most runs in single edition of World Cup by scoring 711 runs from 10 innings. Sachin Tendulkar scored 673 runs in 2003 edition of World Cup.

Kohli scored 50th ton and broke Sachin’s record of 49 ODI centuries (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Tim Southee picket 3 wickets for Kiwis but went for 100 runs in his 10 over. Trent Boult (1/86 in 10 overs) is the other wicket taker for New Zealand. Mitchell Santer (0/51 in 10 overs) bowled an economical spell.

Pacer Mohammad Shami dismissed New Zealand openers Devon Conway (13 runs from 15 balls) and Rachin Ravindra (13 runs from 22 balls) cheaply. Daryl Mitchell (134 runs from 119 balls) and captain Kane Willamson (69 runs from 73 balls) partnership of 181 runs from 149 balls put New Zealand back on track in chase.

Mitchell scored 134 runs in 119 balls (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Mohammad Shami’s double wicket over dismissing Kane Willamson and Tom Latham (0 run from 2 balls) brought India back into the game. Then Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Philips (41 runs from 33 balls) scored 75 runs from 61 balls for the fifth wicket.

Indian bowlers picked wickets quickly after the Philips dismissal and bowled them out for 327 in 48.5 overs. Mohammad Shami becomes the most successful Indian bowler by picking 7 wickets for 57 runs in his 10 overs.

Shami picked 7 wickets for 57 runs (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Kuldeep Yadhav (1/56 in 10 overs) , Jasprit Bumrah (1/64 in 10 overs) and Mohammad Siraj (1/78 in 9 overs) are the other wicket takers for India.

India will play against Australia vs South Africa semi final 2 winner in the Final on November 19th , Sunday.

Player of the Match:- Mohammad Shami (7/57 in 10 overs)

Next Match (16/11/2023):- Australia vs South Africa , Semi Final 2 in Eden Gardens (02:00 PM)

Leave a Reply