India looks to seal the semi final spot against Srilanka

Team India looks to seal the semi final spot (Image Credit:- Twitter)

India will face Srilanka in Wankhede and aims to secure semi final spot in ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023. India played 6 games and won as many games and the only unbeaten side so far. Srilanka on the other side stands 7th in the points table with only 2 wins out of the 6 games they played.

Also Read:- Pakistan chief selector Inzamam Ul Haq resigns amid conflict of interest allegations

Indian captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli is in red hot form in the tournament so far. Rohit Sharma scores 398 runs from 6 innings with an average of 66.33 and Virat Kohli scores 354 runs from 6 innings with an average of 88.50.

Shreyas Iyer who bats at No.4 for India is struggling with short ball. He scores only 134 runs from 6 innings at an average of 33.50. Hardik Pandya who got injured is unlikely to return before India’s final league match against Netherlands.

Indian bowling department done exceptionally well so far and they played a crucial role in India’s 6 win out of the 6 games. Bowlers given India 100 run win against England in last match defending 229.

Mohammad Siraj’s recent form with the ball is a bit concern for India but India likely to continue with him. Last time when India meet Srilanka in Asia Cup final Siraj’s fiery spell of 6/21 bowled Srilanka out for 50 and India chased it down in just 6.1 overs.

Srilanka currently struggling with form and injuries. Their regular captain Dasun Shanaka ruled out of the World Cup due to injury and Kusal Mendis took over from him. They currently stands at No.7 in the points table with only 2 wins. They need to win all their remaining matches and also the results of other teams need too come in their favor to qualify for semis.

India Probable XI:- Rohit Sharma(c) , Shubman Gill , Virat Kohli , Shreyas Iyer , K.L.Rahul (wk) , Suryakumar Yadhav , Ravindra Jadeja , Mohammad Shami , Jasprit Bumbrah , Kuldeep Yadhav , Mohammad Siraj.

Srilanka Probable XI:- Pathum Nissanka , Dimuth Karunaratne , Kusal Mendis (c & wk) , Sadeera Samarawickrama , Charith Asalanka , Dhananjaya de Silva , Angelo Mathews , Maheesh Theekshana , Kasun Rajitha , Dushmantha Chameera , Dilshan Madushanka.

Match will begin at 02:00 PM (IST) on 02/11/2023.

Leave a Reply