Bowlers , Mitchell and Willamson makes it 3 in a row for Newzealand

Nwezealand beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Bowlers , Mitchell and Willamson helps Newzealand beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets and makes it 3 in a row. Elected to bowl first Newzealand restrict Bangladesh to 245/9 in 50 overs and chased it down in 42.5 overs with 8 wickets remaining. Lockie Ferguson named Player of the match for his excellent spell of 3/49 in his 10 over spell.

Click here to see the ICC Cricket World Cup Fixtures

Bangladesh opener Litton Das got out in the first ball of the match by playing aggressive short against Trent Boult. They lost 4 wickets inside 12.1 overs for just 56 runs. Mushfiqur Rahim (66 runs from 75 balls) and Shakib Al Hasan (40 runs from 51 balls) rescued them with 96 run partnership from 108 balls.

Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan put together 96 runs (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Lockie Ferguson given Bangladesh crucial break through by dismissing Shakib Al Hasan. Mahmudullah (41* runs from 49 balls) and Taskin Ahmed (17 runs from 19 balls) helps Bangladesh to reach 245/9 in 50 overs.

Lockie Ferguson (3/49 in 10 overs) , Trent Boult (2/45 in 10 overs) , Matt Henry (2/58 in 10 overs) , Glenn Philips (1/13 in 2 overs) and Mitchell Santner (1/31 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for Newzealand.

Rachin Ravindra who opened the batting with Devon Conway fell to Left arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman for 9. Conway (45 runs from 59 balls) and captain Willamson (78* runs from 107 balls) set the platform for the chase by scoring 80 runs from 105 balls. Conway got out LBW while playing reverse sweep against Shakib Al Hasan.

Daryl Mitchell who joined captain Williamson started his innings by hitting six of the first ball faced. Mitchell (89* runs from 67 balls) and Willamson (78* runs from 107 balls) brought them closer to the target with century run stand. Willamson left the field retired hurt when Newzealand needed 46 more runs.

Willamson injured during the match against Bangladesh (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Glenn Philips (16* runs from 11 balls) and Daryl Mitchell finishes the game for Kiwis without any further loss of wickets in 42.5 overs.

Mustafizur Rahman (1/36 in 8 overs) and Shakib Al Hasan (1/54 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for Bangladesh.

Next Match:- India vs Pakistan in Ahmedabad on 14th Oct 2023 (02:00 PM , IST)

Leave a Reply