Gill , Iyer , Rahul , SKY and bowlers helps India beat Australia by 99 runs and seal the series

India beat Australia by 99 runs and seal the series (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Shreyas Iyer (105 runs from 90 balls) , Shubman Gill (104 runs from 97 balls) , Suryakumar Yadhav (72* runs from 37 balls) , K.L.Rahul (52 runs from 38 balls) and bowlers helps India beat Australia by 99 runs in second ODI and seal the series with one to go.

India set Australia 400 run target at the end of the innings and then the target revised to 317 in 33 overs due to rain. India bowled Australia out for 217 in 28.2 overs. Shreyas Iyer named Player of the match for his 105 runs from 90 balls.

Elected to bowl first Josh Hazlewood picked Ruturaj Gaikwad (8 runs from 12 balls) in the fourth ball of the fourth over. Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer set the stage for big score with 200 run partnership for the second wicket in just 164 balls.

Shreyas and Gill hits century for India in second ODI (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Sean Abbott broke the partnership by dismissing Shreyas Iyer for 105 and later Shubman Gill also walks back to the pavilion after hitting his 6th ODI century. K.L.Rahul (52 runs from 38 balls) and Ishan Kishan (31 runs from 18 balls) continue the momentum set by Gill and Iyer.

SKY played another crucial knock for India (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadhav’s (72* runs from 37 balls) blistering innings in the end helps India finishes on 399/5 in 50 overs. Ravindra Jadeja (13* runs from 9 balls) remains not out with SKY.

Cameron Green picked 2 wickets for Australia but went for 103 runs in his 10 over spell. Josh Hazlewood (1/62 in 10 overs) , Adam Zampa (1/67 in 10 overs) and Sean Abbot (1/91 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for Australia.

Prasidh Krishna given India the start needed by dismissing Mathew short (9 runs from 8 balls) and Steven Smith (0 run from 1 ball) in two consecutive deliveries in the second over of the innings.

David Warner (53 runs from 39 balls) and Marnus Labuschagne (27 runs from 31 balls) put together 80 runs from 68 balls for the third wicket after early fall of Mathew Short and Steven Smith. Ashwin picked 3 quick wickets of Warner , Labuschagne and Inglis in quick sucession pushed Australia back.

Ashwin picked 3 wickets (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Australia lost wickets quickly after the fall of David Warner. From 89/2 they slipped to 140/8. Their second 50 plus partnership came in 9th wicket between Sean Abbott (54 runs from 36 balls) and Josh Hazlewood (23 runs from 16 balls). They added 77 runs in just 44 balls Shami clean bowled Josh Hazlewood.

Ravindra Jadeja ended Australian innings by dismissing Sean Abbott. Australia now lost 5 matches in a row (3 against South Africa and 2 against India).

Ravichandran Ashwin (3/41 in 7 overs) , Ravindra Jadeja (3/42 in 5.2 overs) , Prasidh Krishna (2/56 in 6 overs) and Mohammed Shami (1/39 in 6 overs) are the wicket takers for India.

Leave a Reply