Shubman Gill’s century in vain as Bangladesh beat India by 6 runs

Bangladesh wins the thriller against India by 6 runs (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Bangladesh:- 265/8 (50 overs)
India:- 259/10 (49.5 overs)
Result:- Bangladesh won by 6 runs

India lost to Bangladesh by 6 runs in the last match of super 4. Chasing 266 runs target India bowled out for 259 in 49.5 overs. Shubman Gill (121 runs from 133 balls) century went in vain and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan(80(85) & 1/43) named Player of the Match.

Elected to bowl first India dismissed Litton Das (0 runs from 2 balls) , Tanzid Hasan (13 runs from 12 balls) and Anamul Haque (4 runs from 11 balls) inside the first 6 overs for just 28 runs. Mehidy Hasan Miraz was the next batter who got out cheaply for 13. Tilak Varma dropped him on 3 and Suryakumar Yadhav on 5 off Shardul Thakur before he got out to Axar Patel.

Shakib al Hasan and Towhid Hridoy (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Shakib Al Hasan (80 runs from 85 balls) and Towhid Hridoy (54 runs from 81 balls) brought them back to set a good total by scoring 101 runs from 115 balls for the fifth wicket. K.L. Shardul Thakur broke the partnership by dismissing Bangladesh captain Shardul Thakur.

Nasum Ahmed (44 runs from 45 balls) , Mahedi Hasan (29* runs from 23 balls) and Tanzim Hasan Sakib (14* runs from 8 balls) innings helps them to reach 265/8 in 50 overs.

Shardul Thakur (3/65 in 10 overs) , Mohammed Shami (2/32 in 8 overs) , Prasidh Krishna (1/43 in 9 overs) , Axar Patel (1/47 in 9 overs) and Ravindra Jadeja (1/53 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for India.

Jadeja achieved another milestone by picking 200 ODI wickets (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Ravindra Jadeja trapped Shamim Hossain infront of the stumps to pick 200th international wicket in his 182nd ODI.

India lost captain Rohit Sharma for a duck in the second ball of the chase and to debutant Tanzim Hasan Sakib. Shubman Gill (121 runs from 133 balls) and K.L.Rahul (19 runs from 39 balls) added 57 runs from 87 balls for the third wicket after the early setback. Mahedi Hasan dismissed K.L.Rahul and given Bangladesh the needed breakthrough.

Gill century went in vain (Image Credit:- Twitter)

India then lost Ishan Kisan (5 runs from 15 balls) , Suryakumar Yadhav (26 runs from 34 balls), and Ravindra Jadeja (7 runs from 12 balls) and slipped to 170/6 in 37.4 overs. Shubman Gill (121 runs from 133 balls) played a sublime innings but runs out of partner at the other end. He got out to Mahedi Hasan in the fourth ball of the 44th over when India were 57 runs away from win.

Axar Patel (42 runs from 34 balls) and Shardul Thakur (11 runs from 13 balls) brought India closer by putting 40 runs from 27 balls for the eighth wicket. Mustafizur Rahman who dismissed both of the in the 49th over by giving just 5 runs.

Debutant Tanzim Hasan Sakib who made his debut bowled excellent final over defending 12. Indian innings ended in runout of Mohammed Shami of the fifth ball of 50th over. Bangladesh beaten India for the first time in Asia Cup since 2012.

Mustafizur Rahman (3/50 in 8 overs) , Tanzim Hasan Sakib (2/32 in 7.5 overs) , Mahedi Hasan (2/50 in 9 overs) , Mehidy Hasan Miraz (1/29 in 5 overs) and Shakib Al Hasan (1/43 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for Bangladesh.

Player of the Match:- Shakib Al Hasan 80(85) & 1/43.

One comment

Leave a Reply