Bowlers , Samarawickrama and Aslanka helps Srilanka beat Bangladesh by 5 wickets

Charith Asalanka scored vital 62 not out (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Bangladesh:- 164/10 (42.4 Overs) / Srilanka:- 165/5 (39 Overs)
Result:- Srilanka won by 5 wickets

Srilanka beat Bangladesh by 5 wickets and starts the Asia cup 2023 with a win. After restricting Bangladesh to 164/10 in 42.4 overs Srilanka chased it down in 39 overs with 5 wickets remaining.

Maheesh Theekshana gives Srilanka a perfect start by dismissing debutant Tanzid Hasan for duck in the second ball of the second over. Srilankan bowlers put Bangladesh under pressure by picking wickets at regular intervals.

Matheesha Pathirana picked 4 wickets for Srilanka (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Matheesha Pathirana done most of the damage by picking 4 wickets for 32 runs in his 7.4 overs. Maheesh Theekshana (2/19 in 8 overs) , Dhasun Shanaka (1/16 in 3 overs) , Dunith Wellalage (1/30 in 7 overs) and Dhananjaya de Silva (1/35 in 10 overs) are the other wicket takers for Srilanka.

Najmul Hossain Shanto’s (89 runs from 122 balls) innings helped Bangladesh to reach 164. Towhid Hridoy is the next top scorer with 20 runs from 41 balls.

Shanto top scorer for Bangladesh with 89 runs (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Bangladesh made a perfect start to defend 164 by dismissing Dimuth Karunaratne (1 run from 3 balls) , Pathum Nissanka (14 runs from 13 balls) and Kusal Mendis (5 runs from 21 balls) inside the first 10 overs for just 43 runs.

Asalanka and Samarawickrama put together vital 78 run partnership (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Charith Asalanka (62* runs from 92 balls) and Sadeera Samarawickrama (54 runs from 77 balls) put together 78 runs from 119 balls for the fourth wicket brings Srilanka close to the target. Bangladesh strikes back with two quick wickets of Sadeera Samarawickrama and Dhananjaya de Silva (2 runs from 7 balls).

Charith Asalanka and captain Dasun Shanaka (14* runs from 21 balls) partnership of 37 runs from 48 balls helps Srilanka to reach home without any further loss of wicket.

Shakib Al Hasan (2/29 in 10 overs) , Shoriful Islam (1/23 in 4 overs) , Taskin Ahmed (1/34 in 7 overs) and Mehidi Hasan (1/35 in 10 overs) are the wicket takers for Bangladesh.

Player of the Match:- Matheesha Pathirana (4/32 in 7.4 overs).

One comment

Leave a Reply