India beat Ireland by 33 runs and took unassailable 2-0 lead

Jasprit Bumrah bowled an outstanding spell in second T20I (Image Credit:- Twitter/BCCI)

India:- 185/5 (20 overs) Ireland:- 152/8 (20 overs)
(India won by 33 runs)

India beat Ireland by 33 runs in the second T20I and took 2-0 lead in 3 match series. After setting 186 run target India restricted Ireland to 152/8 in 20 overs. Indian captain Jasprit Bumrah once again shines with the ball with 2/15 in 4 overs spell.

Elected to bowl Ireland picked Indian opener Yashasvi Jaiswal (18 runs from 11 balls ) in the fourth ball of the fourth over bowled by Craig Young. Tilak Varma (1 run from 2 balls) who got out for a duck in the first game got out cheaply again. He got out to McCarthy.

Gaikwad and Samson scored 71 runs for the third wicket (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Ruturaj Gaikwad (58 runs from 43 balls) and Sanju Samson (40 runs from 26 balls) build a crucial 71 run partnership from 49 balls for the third wicket before Samson dragged one into the stumps.

India lost the momentum in the innings after set Ruturaj Gaikwad got out in the first ball of the 16th over. Only 13 runs scored in the next 3 overs before Rinku Singh (38 runs from 21 balls) and Shivam Dube(22 runs from 16 balls) innings helps India to score 41 runs in the final 2 overs to reach 185/5.

Rinku Singh scored 38 runs from 21 balls (Image Credit:- Twitter)

McCarthy (2/36 in 4 overs) , Craig Young (1/29 in 4 overs) , Ben White (1/33 in 4 overs) and Mark Adair (1/36 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for Ireland.

Ireland lost their captain Paul Stirling (0 run from 4 balls) and Lorcan Tucker (0 runs from 3 balls) in the third over of the chase bowled by Prasidh Krishna. Ravi Bishnoi hurt them further more by clean bowled Harry Tector (7 runs from 7 balls) inside the power play. At the end of the power play they were 31/3.

Ravi Bishnoi again given India the break through by dismissing Curtis Campher when Andy Balbirine and Curtis Campher (18 runs from 17 balls) tried to rebuild the Ireland innings with 35 run partnership from 28 balls.

Andy Balbirine scored 71 runs for Ireland (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Andy Balbirine (71 runs from 52 balls) and George Dockrell (13 runs from 11 balls) kept Ireland in the game with 52 run partnership from 30 balls. India took control of the game by dismissing both in quick succession. George Dockrell innings ended in run out and Arshdeep dismissed dangerous Andy Balbirine.

Jasprit Bumrah (2/15 in 4 overs) excellent bowling in the death overs helped India to restrict them to 152/8 and win the match by 33 runs and took unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Jasprit Bumrah (2/15 in 4 overs) , Prasidh Krishna (2/29 in 4 overs) , Ravi Bishnoi (2/37 in 4 overs) and Arshdeep Singh (1/29 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for India.

Player of the Match:- Rinku Singh (38 runs from 21 balls)

One comment

Leave a Reply