West Indies beat India by 8 wickets and won the series 3-2

(Image Credit:- Twitter)

West Indies beat India in the fifth T20I by 8 wickets and won the series 3-2. Chasing 166 run target West Indies chased it down in 18 overs with 8 wicket remaining. Romario Shepherd named Player of the Match for his spell of 4/31 in 4 overs.

Indian openers who put up a show in the last match dismissed cheaply. Yashasvi Jaiswal (5 runs from 4 balls) and Shubman Gill (9 runs from 9 balls) got out to Akeal Hosein inside first 3 overs.

Also Read:- India won the toss and elected to bat in series decider

Suryakumar Yadhav and Tilak Varma (27 runs from 18 balls) brought India back with 49 run partnership from 30 balls for the third wicket. Roston chase who was back in the playing XI broke the partnership by dismissing Tilak Varma.

Sanju Samson who walks to bat at No.5 missed the opportunity to score big. Romario Shepherd dismissed him for 13. Hardik Pandya (14 runs from 18 balls) got out after rain break to Romario Shepherd after hitting a six of previous delivery.

Suryakumar Yadhav scores 61 for India (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadhav (61 runs from 45 balls) once again showed his class with an outstanding innings helps India to reach 165/9. He was trapped in front of the stumps by Jason Holder in the fifth ball of 18th over.

Axar Patel scores 13 runs from 10 balls and Arshdeep Singh scores 8 runs from 4 balls in the end. Mukesh Kumar finished in the Indian innings with a boundary off the last ball.

Romario Shephered picks 4 wickets for Windies (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Romario Shepherd (4/31 in 4 overs) was the pick of the bowlers for Windies. Akeal Hosein (2/24 in 4 overs) , Jason Holder (2/36 in 4 overs) and Roston Chase (1/25 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for them.

Arshdeep Singh once again given India the early break through by dismissing Kyle Mayers for 10 in second ball of the second over. But Brandon King (85* runs from 55 balls) and Nicholas Pooran (47 runs from 35 balls) took the game away from India by scoring 107 runs 72 balls.

Tilak Varma broke the partnership by picking the first international wicket by dismissing Nicholos Pooran. Shai Hope (22 runs from 13 balls) and Brandon king put together unbroken 52 runs from 28 balls for the third wicket and finish the game in 18 overs.

Tilak Varma (1/17 in 2 overs) and Arshdeep Singh (1/20 in 2 overs) are the wicket takers for India.

Player of the Match:- Romario Shepherd (4/31 in 4 overs)

Player of the Series:- Nicholos Pooran (176 runs)

Leave a Reply