West Indies goes 2-0 up with another thrilling win against India

Nicholos Pooran played a match winning knock against India (Image Credit:- Twitter/ICC)

West Indies beat India by 2 wickets in second T20I and goes 2-0 up in the series. They chased down 153 run target set by India in 18.5 overs with 2 wickets remaining. Nicholas Pooran named Player of the Match for his 67 runs from 40 balls.

Indian captain Hardik Pandya who won the toss and elected to bat. India lost Shubman Gill (7 runs from 9 balls) and Suryakumar Yadhav (1 run from 3 balls) in 3.3 overs for just 18 runs. Alzari Joseph dismissed Shubman Gill and Kyle Mayers direct throw ends Suryakumar Yadhav’s innings.

Also Read:- Ireland squad for T20I against India announced

Ishan Kishan (27 runs from 23 balls) and Tilak Varma (51 runs from 41 balls) brought India back from early setbacks with 42 run partnership from 36 balls. Romario Shepherd bowled a beautiful delivery to clean bowled Ishan Kishan to broke the partnership.

Sanju Samson who walks to bat at No.5 didn’t last long. Nicholos Pooran stumped him while he stepped down the wicket to hit Akeal Hosein. Left hander Tilak Varma who mades his debut in first T20I of this series scored his maiden fifty in international level. He scored 51 runs before he got out to Akeal Hosein.

Tilak Varma scored his first International fifty (Image Credit:- Twitter/ICC)

Indian captain Hardik Pandya scored 24 runs from 18 balls and Axar Patel scored 14 runs from 12 balls. Ravi Bishnoi (8* runs from 4 balls) and Arshdeep Singh (6* runs from 3 balls) partnership of 13 runs from 5 balls helps India to go past 150.

Alzari Joseph (2/28 in 4 overs) , Romario Shepherd (2/28 in 3 overs) and Akeal Hosein (2/29 in 4 overs are the wicket takers for West Indies.

Also Read:- Bumrah named captain for Ireland T20I’s

India made a dream start defending 153 by dismissing Brandon King 0(1) in the first ball and Johnson Charles (2 runs from 3 balls) in the fourth ball of the first over bowled by Hardik Pandya. Arshdeep Singh trapped Kyle Mayers (15 runs from 7 balls) infront of the stumps to push West Indies to 32/3.

Nicholos Pooran’s (67 runs from 40 balls) partnership with Rovman Powel (21 runs from 19 balls) for 57 runs and with Shimron Hetymer (22 runs from 22 balls) for 37 runs brought them closer to win. India fights back by picking 4 wickets for just 3 runs to push them back to 129/8 in 16 overs.

Akeal Hosein (16* runs from 10 balls) and Alzari Joseph (10* runs from 8 balls) partnership of 26 runs from 17 balls for the ninth wicket helped West Indies to cross the line in 18.5 overs to go 2-0 up in the series.

Indian captain Hardik Pandya (3/35 in 4 overs) , Yuzvendra Chahal (2/19 in 3 overs) , Arshdeep Singh (1/34 in 4 overs) and Mukesh Kumar (1/35 in 3.5 overs) are the wicket takers for India.

One comment

Leave a Reply