CSK beat GT by 5 wickets in last ball thriller to lift fifth IPL title

R Jadeja hits 10 runs in last 2 balls to give CSK thrilling win (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans by 5 wickets in last ball thriller to lift their fifth IPL title. Batted first Gujarat Titans scored 214/4 in 20 overs. Due to rain CSK’s target revised to 171 in 15 overs and they chased it down in the last ball of the tournament.

Gujarat openers W Saha (54 runs from 39 balls) and S Gill (39 runs from 20 balls) gives them a good start by scoring 67 runs in 7 overs before R Jadeja dismissed S Gill. Both openers were lucky that D Chahar dropped both of them.

Sai Sudharsan’s outstanding innings of 96 runs from 47 balls with 8 fours and 6 sixes and captain Hardik Pandya (21 runs from 12 balls) cameo helped them to reach 214/4 in 20 overs.

Matheesha Pathirana (2/44 in 4 overs) , Ravindra Jadeja (1/38 in 4 overs) and Deepak Chahar (1/38 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for CSK.

CSK’s target was revised to 171 in 15 overs due to rain interruption.

D Conway and R Gaikwad put together 74 runs for the first wicket (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Devon Conway (47 runs from 25 balls) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (26 runs from 16 balls) put together 74 runs in 6.3 overs. Noor Ahmed dismissed both openers in the 7th over to brought Gujarat back in the game.

Shivam Dube (32* runs from 21 balls) , A Rahane (27 runs from 13 balls) and A Rayudu (19 runs from 8 balls) who announced retirement from IPL given useful contribution with bat in the chase.

13 needed in the final over, Mohit Sharma executed his plans well in first 4 balls by giving just 3 runs. 10 required in last 2 balls, R Jadeja hits a six and four to give CSK a thrilling last ball win to lift their fifth IPL trophy.

Noor Ahmed (2/17 in 3 overs) was the pick of the bowlers for Gujarat. Mohit Sharma (3/36 in 3 overs) is the other wicket taker for Gujarat.

Impact Player (GT):- Josh Little in for Sai Sudharsan

Impact Player (CSK):- S Dube in for Matheesha Pathirana

Player of the Match:- Devon Conway (47 runs from 25 balls)

CSK lifts 2023 IPL Trophy (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Leave a Reply