KKR won the last ball thriller against Sunrises by 5 runs

V Chakravarthy defended 9 runs in the final over against KKR (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Sunrises Hyderabad by 5 runs in last ball thriller. KKR set SRH 172 run target and restricted them to 166/8 in 20 overs. Varun Chakravarthy (1/20 in 4 overs) who defended 9 runs in the final over named Player of the match.

Also Read:- I Kishan , Suryakumar Yadhav helps Mumbai chased down 215 against Punjab Kings

Rinku Singh (46 runs from 35 balls) , Nithish Rana (42 runs from 31 balls) and Andre Russel’s (24 runs from 15 balls) helps KKR to reach 171/9 in 20 overs.

Rinku Singh and Nithish Rana put together 61 runs from 40 balls for the fourth wicket after loosing Rahmanullah Gurbaz (0 runs from 1 ball) , Venkatesh Iyer (7 runs from 4 balls) and Jason Roy (20 runs from 19 balls) for 35 runs in 4.4 overs.

KKR scored only 42 runs in the last 5 overs for the loss of 4 wickets.

Also Read:- Rain forced to abandon CSK vs LSG match, both teams share points

Marco Jansen (2/24 in 3 overs) , T Natarajan (2/30 in 4 overs) , Aiden Makram (1/24 in 3 overs) , Mayank Markande (1/29 in 4 overs) , Kathi Tyagi (1/30 in 2 overs) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/33 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for Sunrises Hyderabad.

Chasing 172 Sunrises Hyderabad lost Mayank Agarwal (18 runs from 11 balls) , Abhishek Sharma ( 9 runs from 10 balls) , Rahul Tripathi (20 runs from 9 balls) and Harry Brook (0 runs from 4 balls) for 54 runs in 6.2 overs.

Aiden Makram (41 runs from 40 balls) and Heinrich Klassen (36 runs from 20 balls) brought SRH back in the game with 70 run partnership from 47 balls. S Thakur broke the partnership by dismissing Heinrich Klassen.

Needed just 38 runs in last 5 overs Sunrises were able to score only just 32 runs for the loss of 3 wickets. Varun Chakravarthy who bowled the final over defended 9 runs to give KKR thrilling 5 run win to help KKR stay alive in the tournament.

Shardul Thakur (2/23 in 3 overs) , Vaibhav Arora (2/32 in 3 overs) , Andree Russel (1/15 in 1 over) , Varun Chakravarthy (1/20 in 4 overs) , Ankul Roy (1/26 in 3 overs) and Harshit Rana (1/27 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Impact Player (KKR):- Ankul Roy in for Jason Roy

Impact Player (SRH):- Rahul Tripathi in for T Natarajan

Player of the Match:- Varun Chakravarthy (1/20 in 4 overs)

Next Match (05/05/2023):- Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans (07:30 PM , IST)


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s