Venkatesh Iyer’s century in vain as Mumbai chase down 186 with ease

V Iyer become the first batter to score IPL hundred for KKR after B McCullum (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Mumbai Indians chased down 186 runs target set by KKR with 5 wickets and 2.2 overs to spare.Venkatesh Iyer’s (104 runs from 51 balls) who become the first batter to score a century for KKR after B McCullum’s century in 2008 powers KKR to 185/6 in 20 overs.

Apart from Venkatesh Iyer no top order batter from KKR were able to score runs freely in their innings. Andre Russell (21 runs from 11 balls) who walks to bat at 7 played a cameo in the final overs. KKR were able to score only 45 runs in the final 5 overs.

Arun Tendulkar makes his debut in IPL for Mumbai Indians (Image Credit:-Twitter)

Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun Tendulkar who made his debut in IPL for Mumbai Indians. In his two over spell he given 17 runs and went wicketless.

Piyush Chawla (1/19 in 4 overs) bowled a tight spell for Mumbai and picked their opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz for 8. Hrithik Shokeen (2/34 in 4overs) , Cameron Green (1/20 in 2 overs) , Riley Meredith (1/40 in 4 overs) and Duan ansen (1/53 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for Mumbai Indians.

Ishan Kishan (58 runs from 25 balls) and Rohit Sharma (20 runs from 13 balls) gives Mumbai off to a flying start by scoring 65 runs in just 4.5 overs. Umesh Yadhav took a brillant catch off Suyash Sharma to dismiss Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma. Varun Chakravarthy who clean bowled Ishan Kishan to end his sublime innings on 58.

I Kishan and Suryakumar Yadhav finds form against KKR (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadhav who walks to bat at No.3 finds his rhythm in this innings by scoring 43 runs from 25 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes. Tilak Varma (30 runs from 25 balls) and Tim David (24 runs from 13 balls) also given useful contribution to chase down 186.

Suyash Sharma (2/27 in 4 overs) , Lockie Ferguson (1/19 in 1.4 overs) , Shardul Thakur (1/25 in 2 overs) and Varun Chakravarthy (1/38 in 4 overs) are the wicket takers for KKR.

Impact Player (MI):- Rohit Sharma in for Riley Meredith

Impact Player (KKR):- Suyash Sharma in for Venkatesh Iyer

Player of the Match:- Venkatesh Iyer (104 runs from 51 balls)

Next Match (17/04/2023):- Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings (07:30 PM, IST)

One comment

Leave a Reply