Spinners and Rahane’s explosive batting powers CSK to 7 wicket win over Mumbai Indians

A Rahane hits fastest IPL-2023 half century in 19 balls against Mumbai Indians (Image Credit:- Twitter)

A Rahane’s 61 runs from just 27 balls explosive batting and the spinners powers CSK to 7 wicket win over Mumbai in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. Elected to bowl first Chennai Super Kings restricted Mumbai Indians to 157/8 and chased it down in 18.1 overs with 7 wickets remaining.

Also Read:- Rajastan Royals beat Delhi Capitals by 57 runs

Mumbai Indians lost their way after a good start they got in the power play. They scored 61 runs in the power play for the loss of Rohit Sharma 21(13). Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Ishan Kishan in the first over after the power play. He scored 32 runs from 21 balls with 5 boundaries.

Left arm spinners Ravindra Jadeja (3/20) and Mitchell Santner (2/28) spell turn the game in CSK’s favor. They picked 5 wickets for 48 runs in their 8 overs together. Tushar Deshpande (2/31) and Sisanda Magala (1/37) are the other wicket takers for CSK.

Click here to see the results of IPL 2023 so far

Tim David 31(21) , Tilak Varma 22(18) and Hrithik Shokeen 18*(13) innings helped Mumbai to reach 157.

J Behrendroff removed CSK opener D Conway for a duck in the fourth ball of the first over. A Rahane who was playing his first game for CSK walked to bat at No.3 changed the game quickly with his blistering innings of 61 runs from just 27 balls. He hit 7 fours 3 sixes before he mistimed one off P Chawla to Suryakumar Yadhav’s hand. He scores fastest IPL 2023 fifty in 19 balls. He was included in the XI for injured Moeen Ali.

Ruturaj Gaikwad continued his good form in the tournament and remains not out on 40. Currently he holds the orange cap holder with 189 runs in 3 innings. S Dube 28(26) and A Rayudu 20*(16) also contributed well in CSK’s victory.

Kumar Karthikeya (1/24) , J Behrendroff (1/24) and P Chawla (1/33) are the wicket takers for Mumbai Indians.

Impact Player (CSK):- A Rayudu in for Deepak Chahar

Impact Player (MI):- K Karthikeya in for Tim David

Player of the Match:- Ravindra Jadeja (3/20)

R Jadeja (Image Credit:- Twitter)

One comment

Leave a Reply