Mumbai Indians lift inaugural Women Premier League Trophy

Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets and won inaugural WPL Trophy (Image Credit:-Twitter)

Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets in thrilling final and won inaugural Women Premier League trophy. Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*(55) guides them to chase down 132 run target in the third ball of the final over and won the Player of the Final award.

Shikha Pandey 27*(17) and Radha Yadhav 27*(12) put together 52 runs partnership in last 4 overs for the 10th wicket helped Delhi Capitals to reach 131/9 in 20 overs from 79/9 in 16 overs at one stage.

Issy Wong who took hat-trick in the eliminator gives Mumbai a good start in the final by picking Shafali Verma 11(4) , Alice Capsey 0(2) , Jemimah Rodrigues 9(8) inside the power play. All three batters got out to a full toss delivery.

Delhi captain Meg Lanning 35(29) is only top order batter who batted well for them. Her innings ended in run out after miscommunication with her partner Jess Jonassen at the crucial juncture.

Hayley Mathews was the pick of the bowlers for Mumbai. She took 3 wickets giving just 5 runs in her quota of 4 overs. Issy Wong (3/42) and Amelia Kerr (2/18) are the other wicket takers for Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians lost Yastika Bhatia 4(3) and Hayley Mathews 13(12) early in the chase. Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*(55) and Harmanpreet Kaur 37(39) put together crucial 72 run partnership for the third wicket before Mumbai Captain’s innings ended in run out when they need 37 more in last 4 overs.

Nat Sciver-Brunt along with Amelia Kerr 14(8) done the job for their side in tense finish to clinch inaugural Women Premier League Trophy.

Radha Yadhav (1/24) and Jess Jonassen (1/28) are the wicket takers for Delhi.

Nat Sciver-Brunt innings helps Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals in WPL final (Image Credit:- Twitter)

Player of The Match:- Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*(55) – Mumbai Indians

Player of the Series:- Hayley Mathews (271 runs & 16 wickets) – Mumbai Indians

Emerging Player:- Yastika Bhatia (214 runs) – Mumbai Indians

Purple Cap:- Hayley Mathews (16 wickets) – Mumbai Indians

Orange Cap:- Meg Lanning (345 runs) – Delhi Capitals

Leave a Reply