Newzeland won the First T20 by 13 runs

M Santner named Player of the Match for his spell of 3/19 against Windies(Image Credit:-Twitter)

Newzeland beat West Indies by 13 runs in first T20 and take 1-0 lead in the series. Kane Willamson 47(33) , Devon Conway 43(29) and James Neesham 33*(15) helps Newzeland post 185/5 in 20 overs. Romario Shepherd 31*(16) and Odean Smith 27*(12) cameo was not good enough for Windies. After the end of 20 overs West Indies scored 172/7 and fell short by 13 runs.

Click to see India’s squad for Zimbabwe tour

After put into bat by West Indies the Kiwis opener M Guptil and Devon Conway scored 62 runs for the first wicket. D Conway scored the majority of runs with strike rate of 148.27. Odean Smith dismissed both the openers in two consecutive balls in the 8th over. Kane Willamson’s 47(33) and James Neesham’s 33*(15) who played a cameo in final stages of the innings helped Newzeland post 185/5.

Click here to see India’s squad for Asia Cup

Odean Smith (3/32) , Obed McCoy (1/39) and J Holder (1/42) are the wicket takers for Windies.

During the chase of 186 West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals.They were 114/7 in 15.4 overs. Needed 72 runs to win from 26 balls Romario Shepherd and Odean Smith tried their best by scoring 58* runs partnership from 26 balls but fell short by 13 runs.

M Santner (3/19) , L Ferguson (1/33) , Ish Sodhi (1/34) , Trent Boult (1/36) and T Southee (1/46) are the wicket takers for Newzeland.

Leave a Reply