India beat West Indies by 88 runs and won the series 4-1

Axar Patel named Player of the Match for his outstanding bowling in Powerplay (Image Credit:-twitter/ICC)

India beat West Indies by 88 runs and won the series 4-1. Shreyas Iyer’s 64(40) innings helps India to post 188/7 in 20 overs. West Indies was able to score only 100 runs in 15.4 overs. All the Windies wickets taken by the spinners.

Also read:- India women won silver in CWG Cricket

Rohit Sharma rested for the match and Hardik Pandya lead the team in this match. India made four changes in the playing XI. Ishan Kisan , Shreyas Iyer , Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadhav included in the XI in place of Rohit Sharma , S.K.Yadhav , Rishabh Pant and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

India won the toss and elected to bat. Shreyas Iyer (64) who opened the batting with Ishan Kisan played an outstanding innings. He and Deepak Hooda’s 76 runs off 44 balls partnership for the second wicket set the platform for India. Stand in captain Hardik Pandya scored 28 off 16 balls. S Iyer , D Hooda and H Pandya innings helps India post 188/7 in 20 overs.

Odean Smith (3/33) , Hayden Walsh (1/33) , Dominic Drakes (1/24) and Jason Holder (1/38) are the wicket takers for Windies.

West Indies opened the batting with J Holder and Shamarh Brooks. Opened the batting with J Holder didn’t worked in their favour he was dismissed by Axar Patel in first over for a duck. S Hetmyer 56(35) only batter who batted well for them. Indian spinners R Bishnoi (4/16) , Kuldeep Yadhav (3/12) and A PAtel (3/15) took all the wickets and kept it tight for India.

Axar Patel named player of the match and Arshdeep Singh named player of the series.

India’s next series was against Zimbabwe which begins on August 18th .

One comment

Leave a Reply