Australia beat India by 9 runs and won the gold medal in Common Wealth Games Cricket Final

Australia(Gold) ,India (silver) and Newzeland(Bronze) in CWG Cricket 2022 (Image credit:-Twitter)

Australia beat India by 9 runs in the Common Wealth Games Cricket final and won the gold. India settles for silver. Beth Mooney’s 61(41) balls took Australia to 161/8 in 20 overs. In reply India bowled out for 152 in 19.3 overs.

Australian captain Meg Lanning has won the toss and elected to bat in all important final. Australia lost Alyssa Healy (7) early to Renuka Singh. Beth Mooney and Meg Lanning 74 runs off 47 balls put Australian in control. Radha Yadhav excellent fielding in her own bowling end the partnership with Meg Lanning’s(36) run out. Beth Mooney(61) , Meg Lanning (36) , Ashleigh Gardner(25) and Racheal Haynes (18*) batting in final overs help Australia to post 161/8 in 20 overs. India fielded superbly to restrict Australia.

Renuka Singh (2/25) , Sneh Rana (2/38) Radha Yadhav (1/24) and Deepti Sharma (1/30) are the wicket takers for India.

India lost Smriti Mandhana (6) and Shafali Varma (11) early in the case. Jemimah Rodrigues (33) and Harmanpreet Kaur (65) partnership of 96 runs from 71 balls brought India back in the game. Megan Schutt broke the partnership by clean bowled Jemimah Rodrigues. India then lost wickets quickly and bowled out for 152. A Gardner(3/16) , M Schutt (2/27) , D Brown (1/19) and J Jonassen (1/21) are the wicket takers for Australia.

India women team won silver in CWG-2022(Image credit:-Twitter/BCCI)


Leave a Reply