India beat Srilanka by 39 runs and won the series 3-0

Harmanpreet Kaur scored crucial 75 runs in third ODI against Srilanka (Image credit:- Twitter/ICC)

India women beat Srilanka women by 39 runs and won the ODI series 3-0. Harmanpreet Kaur and Pooja Vastrakar’s 97 runs partnership for the 7th wicket helped India to recover from 124/6 to 255/9 in 50 overs. In reply Srilanka bowled out for 216 in 47.3 overs. Harmanpreet Kaur named Player of the match and Player of the series.

After put into bat India lost Smrithi Mandhana early. She scored only 6 runs from 20 balls. Shafali Verma and Yastika Bhatia batted well and they together added 59 runs for the second wicket. Srilanka broken the partnership by dismissing Bhatia (30) off Ranaweera. India then collapsed from 89/2 to 124/6 in 26.2 overs. Then Harmanpreet Kaur (75) and Pooja Vastrakar’s (56*) helped India recover from 124/6. Pooja Vastrakar’s late burst helped India to reach 255/9. Shafali Verma also made useful contribution with 49 runs.

Also read:-Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in ODI’s against West Indies

Inoka Ranaweera bowled well for Srilanka by picking 2 wickets and given only 22 runs in her 10 overs. Rashmi Silva was expensive in her 6 over spell by giving 53 runs but she picked 2 wickets of Shafali Verma and Harleen Deol in middle phase of the match. Chamari Athathapathu also bowled well by picking 2 wickets.

Srilanka lost their opener Vishmi Gunaratne (3) early in the chase. Chamari Athapaththu and Hasini Perera added 56 runs in just 46 ball partnership bought Srilanka back on chase. Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur given India the break through by dismissing Srilankan Captain Chamari Athapaththu who looked very dangerous by scoring 44 runs in 41 balls. Srilanka then lost wickets at regular intervals. The small partnerships of 36,28 and 33 runs by Nilakshi de silva with Harshitha Samarawickrama , Rashmi Silva and Inoka Ranaweera was not enough to cross the total set by India. Nilakshi de Silva scores 48 runs and remains notout.

Rajeshwari Gayakwad bowls well for India by picking 3 wickets in her quata off 10 overs by giving just 36 runs. Meghna Singh (2/32) and Pooja Vastrkar (2/33) are the other main contributors with the ball for India.

Earlier India won the T20I series also by 2-1.

One comment

Leave a Reply